Skip to content

Semester In Review

Wow. To do this kind of blog post is kind of silly, because each thing that I will briefly mention deserves its own post. However, when I decided I would attempt a “semester in review” post I continued to delay it each week, for there was always an upcoming event that I wanted to be able to include in my writing! Well, now it is the day before finals, the semester really is coming to an end, and I would love to take a few moments to reflect back and share all of the incredible things GlobeMed has done in less than four short months.

First of all, never did I ever think that I would find an organization whose priorities, ideology, model, and aspirations aligned so closely with mine. Walking out of the information session caused me to want to be apart of something more than I ever had before. During the entire presentation I was so incredibly excited, with each passing slide I think the smile on my face grew bigger and bigger as I would turn to Alice (who was sitting next to me, with that same excitement) and freak out a little more and more. Afterwards, I tried to use words to express how much I had already fallen in love with GlobeMed, how it was the perfect fit for me, how I agreed with everything the organization stood for, how I desperately wanted to be a member, and how it just triggered pure joy and excitement out of me. Through smiles and giggles, all expressions of excitement, we understood that we were on the exact same page. I learned that she was already starting her last year (L don’t leave us!), and if this is what the members were like, all the more reason to join! I immediately called my mom on my way back to my dorm, telling her all about the organization, talking so fast that she probably only comprehended a few words. Luckily, my application did the trick and she has had many opportunities since to hear all about it. As did the rest of my family. And all of my friends. And I hope many more that I come in to contact with over these four years and beyond because health inequity is a huge issue, one that can be overcome, and NEEDS to be heard. So! What have we done as a chapter to accomplish this?

First, we bonded at the retreat in order for all of us new members to get to know everyone and for them to get to know us J. This was done at Pease Park. During this time I got to hear the story of how GlobeMed was first started, history that I was anxious to learn! Right after this we had GlobeMed school graduation and the sorting hat told us which committees we would be joining! GlobeMed school was a great way to be introduced into the chapter, for the model is not a simple one, but an incredibly important one, for it gets at the heart of partnership and empowerment aspects of the health inequity movement. So, in order for us to all be learned members, we learned what exactly this all meant. J I became a member of the outreach committee, whom I love dearly and am so fortunate to be a part of! We have reached out to many for our events like World Café, (which went VERY well—thanks to our speaker, all who attended, and the provoking questions and case studies inspired by GhU!) our co-sponsored event of Extreme Medicine (truly inspiring—a must look up if you are unfamiliar with Dr. Rick Hodes), our profit share at Red Mango (so yummy and a great excuse to order extra, pile on the toppings, or get treats to go!), \and our benefit dinner (a solid night of fun! Thank you for all of the food, raffle and salsa instructing donations!) I have learned how to be one of those awkward tablers who earnestly seek your attention, yearn for a few moments of your time, so that you may see what we are so passionate about and possibly join our movement too. Or at the very least go kayaking, at the same time helping our cause. Part of what I specifically do being on outreach is coordinating our volunteer events. So far we have gone to the Capitol Area Food Bank of Austin, but I am psyched to show you guys what all is in store for next semester.

As we all expressed at our delightful and delicious Thanksgiving dinner, I am truly thankful for GlobeMed, and for each and every one of you. Thank you for making my Wednesdays bright, for inspiring me to be do more each and every day, and for sharing a passion that really can and will change our world. I love you guys and cannot wait to look back on seven more semesters; actually I can, I do not want to rush this sweetness!

Post by Caroline Kelly

No comments yet

Let us know what you're thinking!